top of page
Sunshine Center Building.jpeg







In 1982, a group of citizens concerned about child abuse and its impact on children and families in our community came together to form the Frankfort Area Children's Council. The Frankfort Area Children's Council was formed and incorporated as a non-profit, tax-exempt organization in 1982 by concerned community citizens, to address the problem of child abuse in Frankfort, Franklin County, and the surrounding areas. 

Meet The Team

Kelly is serving as the interim director of the Sunshine Center and is a licensed professional clinical counselor  with a passion for working survivors of trauma. Prior to her career in mental health counseling, she worked as a case manager in domestic violence and housing programs. She also spent many years as the director of a statewide AmeriCorps program. Kelly and her husband also serve on the board of the Fuller Center.

Screenshot 2022-08-24 at 1.57_edited.jpg

Kelly Dycus

Interim Director

Virginia Marshall pic.webp

Virginia Marshall

Child Therapist

Experienced child therapist with a background in counseling teens, children, and young adults as well as working with Social Workers and family courts. I have a wonderful family and home.

Angelia Hunter pic.webp

Angelia Hunter

Adult Victim Therapist

Angelia has been a therapist with The Sunshine Center for 20 years. She lives in Lexington with her husband of 23 years and has two daughters. Her favorite past time is cooking and and having friends over and playing games. Favorite quote- "You alone are ENOUGH- you have nothing to prove to anybody."

Christy Rezo pic.webp

Christy Rezo

Nurturing Parenting Class Instructor

I am a wife and mother living here in Frankfort. I love working with children and their families. Strong families help build a strong positive community and that’s something that I love about my work at the Sunshine Center! I have a long history of working in early childhood development and education. I am also a certified Nurturing Parenting Program instructor.

Sidney photo.jpg

Sydney Dunn
SV Coordinator

"Sydney works hands on with our Supervised Visitation clients as our Supervised Visitation Coordinator. She has a passion for helping children and families and an artistic background that she hopes to bring to the department. A long time Frankfort resident, Sydney is excited and proud to help her community. When she is not at work, she is playing video games and cuddling with her cat. "


Laura Smith

Americorps Housing Case Manager


"Laura has joined The Sunshine Center team as an Americorps member focusing on housing and homelessness for domestic violence survivors. She is currently a student studying Psychology with plans to be a mental health counselor. She is joined at work daily by her service dog Olive and has a wonderful husband and second dog at home."

Amanda David pic.jpeg

Amanda Davis

Case Worker


Amanda is passionate about helping others. She is a proud Americorps Alumni. Amanda has a background in the housing field assisting those experiencing homelessness. She is a firm believer and supporter that housing is a basic human right and that everyone should have access to safe affordable housing. In her free time she enjoys spending time with her son and her friends. 

Board of Directors

Board President: LIsa Darby, real estate agent (502)320-9710

Vice President: Skye Hanson, Crime Victim’s Advocate (270)314-0960 Franklin County

Secretary/Treasurer: Stephanie Stafford, Bank Services Traditional Bank (502)330-1438

Member: Annette Harrod, retired social worker, (502)744-8859 Shelby County

Member: Dan Shouse, retired Fire Fighter and EMS, (502)695-8355 Franklin County

Member: Kari Williams, attorney; Franklin County

Member: Will Coblin, Insurance Agent, (502)319-1024 Franklin County

Member: Katrisha Waldridge - Frankfort City Commissioner - (513)257-3136 - Frankfort

Member: Katima Smith-Willis - ACLU Contract Event Coordinator,

Junior Board Member: Lilia Saxena Smithson - (502)330-4505 -
Junior Board Member: Claire Moore - (502)229-2505

bottom of page